Woe is me…Venezuela

So, you’ve probably noticed my lack of entries during our almost two month stint in Venezuela. Due in part to the excitement and activities planned with my husband’s thirteen siblings and extended family, but more out of frustration. Additional, as a country with a watchful eye, I have been reluctant to muse, or especially,  critique while still resting within its borders.

As gently as it can be stated, Venezuela would have not been on my list of places to visit, much less spend a significant amount of our trip in, had I not married a wonderful man from this incredibly complex country. I’m having a difficult time summing up my emotions when it comes to this place….The family reunion and welcoming to my husband’s family, the intrinsic value placed in/on family, and the outpouring of pride of country and political leaning all lend themselves to the side of Venezuela that I love. It is a diverse country, of land, of people, of wealth. It’s plights are many, and during our stint here we have been on the receiving end of many.

Locals jest that Venezuela is the “land of lines.” I concur, that it truly is. Police are not respected, stoplights have no meaning, and no matter where you go, there is a line to wait in before your arrival. Without going into the specifics as to why, the current political situation in Venezuela is caliente, and very volatile.

While we are unable to acquire flights out of the country, I’m trying to remain positive. Our extended stay here has cut three weeks out of our itinerary, and is significantly altering our travel plans. Hopefully within the next week we will have a way out; to anywhere, and continue our adventure. For now, I’m going to try to reflect on the experiences and adventures we have enjoyed in Venezuela. Overlooking the negatives, (which I will try to address with more clarity at a later date,) there is magical culture, amazing beaches, good food, and the spiritual oasis that is the Amazon. I revel in diction and dictation, but find that if a place can render me speechless, it has found a home in my heart. Venezuela has its place. Image

Lake Maracaibo and the Maracaibo bridge. Though today, technically not a lake, it is the largest lake in Venezuela. The bridge, according to Wikipedia, is “the longest prestressed concrete bridge in the world.”

Leave a Reply

